Die Writing

Pick up lines

Posted in Uncategorized by erdaron on July 3, 2013

He inhaled the smoke and opened the tin case for her. She leaned forward, examined the tightly wrapped cigarillos for a moment, more used to the usual cigarettes. These had a finer, older aroma. She picked one out and brought up the light.

“So where are you from?” He asked.

“That’s a terrible pickup line.”

“You’re married. I can’t pick you up.”

“Maybe I’m in an open marriage,” she said with cartoonish seduction in her voice.

“Well I’m not,” he quipped. “Besides, I’m not interested in sex.”

“Not interested in sex?”

“No. I’ve had sex. It was fine. Kind of done with that scene.” He leaned on the window sill and she against the porch railing. He did his best to make himself nonchalant, haughty, and poetic, while she grinned, amused. “So let’s have it, where you from?”

“Fine. New York.”

“God I hate New York.”

“Fuck you, feller,” she said with a laugh.

“I’d be ok if it was less New York. I get it, greatest city on Earth, stop trying.”

“Ha. No trying there.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

